In conjunction with Black History Month, Adrian Younge has announced to release his most personal project to date.

First off is the single. The single is called Revolutionize, and it shows Younge pen game channeling up Gil Scott-Heron vibes with the Marvin Gaye/Curtis Mayfield feels. The song features The Linear Labs Orchestra with vocals performed by Loren Oden, Chester Gregory and Sam Harmonix.

The song is off the upcoming album, called The American Negro. This multimedia project sees the LA-based multi-instrumentalist, composer and producer share an unapologetic critique detailing the systemic and malevolent psychology that afflicts people of color. This album is the score to the upcoming film of the same name – written, directed, edited, and played every instrument of the rhythm section by Younge himself. He also orchestrated a 30-piece orchestra and recorded them in his analog studio.

This project, according to the press release, is not for the faint of heart. The album cover includes the recreation of ‘lynching postcards’ – postcards that often celebrated the murder of African Americans and/or intimidate recently freed black people after the Reconstruction Era. It has been said that often times the photographers were one of the killers of black people.

More details from the press release:

The American Negro is a powerful, multifaceted statement that reflects perennial injustices and serves to act as a lever of change during a time of mass disillusionment: an album for the people that details the evolution of racism in America. It is insightful, provocative and necessary in our fight for equality. “The American Negro is the most important creative accomplishment of my life. This project dissects the chemistry behind blind racism, using music as the medium to restore dignity and self-worth to my people,” notes Younge. “It should be evident that any examination of black music is an examination of the relationship between black and white America. This relationship has shaped the cultural evolution of the world and its negative roots run deep into our psyche.”

In addition to the release of The American Negro, Younge is releasing his brand new podcast called Invisible Blackness in which the podcast documents the evolution of racism. Younge will be joined by Ladybug Mecca, Chuck D (of Public Enemy), Keyon Harold, Michael Jai White, and more to reveal, illustrate, and make visible dominant ideologies that’s embedded in America.

The film will be out later this month on Amazon’s Prime Video. The album is out this Friday, February 26th, via Jazz Is Dead Records. Peep the first episode of the his podcast with Mecca, and subscribe to the podcast here on Amazon Music.
01 – Revisionist History
02 – The American Negro
03 – The Black Broadcast
04 – Revolutionize
05 – Double Consciousness
06 – Watch the Children
07 – Dying on the Run
08 – Intransigence of the Blind
09 – James Mincey Jr
10 – Disadvantaged Without a Title
11 – Mama (You Will Make It)
12 – The Black Queen
13 – Margaret Garner
14 – Race is a Fallacy
15 – Light on the Horizon
16 – A Symphony for Sahara
17 – America is Listening
18 – The March on America
19 – Paradox of the Positive
20 – The Death March
21 – Black Lives Matter
22 – Rotten Roses
23 – Jim Crow’s Dance
24 – Patriotic Portraits
25 – George Stinney Jr.
26 – Sullen Countenance
Previous post

AKA Block and Dana Williams team up "Waiting For The Rain"

Next post

PAST/TENSE shares "Mvp" and "Just Went Up" from his archives