Oakland-based Kingmakers of Oakland aka KOO Krew consists of rappers/singers/songwriters Alonzo Henderson aka Zo1, emcee Amari Chatmon aka AMARI, and emcee Kahli aka 42k-lil. The hiphop/R&B infused collective has been putting in work with their genre-bending style since 2019 when they released their debut LP Kings in the Making. The trio is now gearing up to release their new LP Royalty, but in the interim, they share the animated visuals for the lead single “Glisten”. The track is a reflective jam that is ripe with uplifting lyrics and a smooth sublime hook to match.

The animated visual directed by JOELCYZOMATLADI and MOGAU KEKANA taps into the spirit of togetherness and the way the city of Oakland shaped their views. In other news, the video recently won the People’s Choice Award by the 2023 AfroComicon International Film Festival.


Kingmakers of Oakland is an award-winning nonprofit that supports school districts around the country to improve the educational and life outcomes of Black Boys. Chris Chatmon founded Kingmakers of Oakland following the success of the African American Male Achievement (AAMA) program he led for Oakland Unified School District which was recognized by the White House as one of the 25 leading programs to improve educational outcomes for Black boys.

Royalty will be released on January 26, 2024. Check the tracklist below


  1. Ima King
  2. What Sustains You
  3. Public Criticism
  4. Hurt
  5. Too Long
  6. It’s Coming
  7. We Kings
  8. Mountaintop
  9. It’s All Love
  10. Right On Time
  11. Glisten
  12. Black Love
  13. Ubuntu
  14. Take It Back


Keep up with Kingmakers of Oakland  | Spotify: Facebook: Instagram: Website

Previous post


Next post

JP Reynolds and The PEACEANDPOWER Band share new single "Strawberry"