De La Soul has just dropped their J Dilla produced mixtape ‘Smell The Da.I.S.Y. ‘!

The legendary trio known as De La Soul has just released their hotly anticipated mixtape ‘Smell The Da.I.S.Y.‘. The mixtape’s title is a clever play on words and stands for Da Inner Soul Of Yancey. De La Soul’sSmell The Da.I.S.Y.’ is meant to be a homage to the late great J Dilla, it is also intended to raise awareness about the J Dilla Foundation. Prior to the official release of ‘Smell The Da.I.S.Y.’, two singles off the mixtape called “Dilla Plugged In” and “Vocabulary Spills” were released. The new mixtape features 11 tracks filled to the brim with head nodding J Dilla production.

Accompanying the stellar beats are mostly reworked vocals from previous De La Soul tracks. The combination of De La Soul over J Dilla’s beats really works well. This is as close as we’ll ever get to even imagining a true collaborative effort between the two legendary Hip Hop acts and boy is it good! Included with the download of ‘Smell The Da.I.S.Y.’ are a couple of goodies in the form of an audio letter that explains the mixtape’s creation, wallpapers, and a great J Dilla documentary entitled ‘Still Shining’. De La Soul’s new mixtape  ‘Smell The Da.I.S.Y.’  is truly fantastic and needs to be checked out by any self respecting Hip Hop fan. The track list, artwork and downloading information for ‘Smell The Da.I.S.Y.’ can be seen below.

[wpsharely]Download ‘Smell The Da.I.S.Y.’ here[/wpsharely]


  1. Let The King Ascend
  2. Who
  3. Dilla Plugged In
  4. Goes With The Word
  5. Vocabulary Spills
  6. The Pitch
  7. Taking The Train
  8. Leave Your Cares Behind
  9. O’Shut Up
  10. No More No Less
  11. Marvin Jaye


Previous post

Cookin' Soul Remixes Jay Electronica's 'Better In Tune...' Track!

Next post

Murdock's Miscellany - Episode #1 Booms Baps and Bleeps