Xiuhtezcatl recently released his 7 track EP Runway Tapes and in the interim, he shares a single “Tides Freestyle”  for us to rock to.

The track is a display of bravado, insightful elements, and stylish flows over an ominous but groovy backdrop ripe with rumbling drums that fit his laidback flow. Xiuhtezcatl is in his element here and shares some of his thoughts with lines like “Barrios turning to high-rise buildings, the city swallowing cultures gentrifying the drivebys/ I question the cost of the freedom we fighting for” as he ponders on what life has in store for Indigenous people and minorities in general.

Get Runway Tapes on all DSPs here.

Xiuhtezcatl has performed and collaborated with artists such as JadenRaurySatellite Mode, and Willow, while building outside the boundaries of the music industry to use art to challenge systems of injustice and re-envision the future. As 1/3 of the emerging hip hop group Voice Runners, Xiuhtezcatl, LA-based artist Tru, and producer Jaiia Cerff launched into 2020 in full force dropping a series of singles that culminated with the self titled Voice Runners album in February.

‘Runway Tapes’ Tracklist:

1. Fuego (feat. Isa Caress)

2. Runaway (feat. Isa Caress)

3. El Cielo

4. Tides Freestyle

5. Ping

6. Thankful (feat. DJ Cavem)

7. Moments


Keep up with Xiuhtezcatl: Instagram | Twitter |  Spotify | SoundCloud Website YouTube

Previous post

YEAROFJORDN and BroGawd go for the "KillShot" [video]

Next post

Beatrock Music announces two new releases!