Emcee Fluent‘s sophomore project is a 10 track, J Cardim-produced body of work, vastly different from his previous release Retro Future. Sonically, I didn’t expect anything less from J. Cardim but Fluent most definitely wasn’t resting on J’s backdrop like a wall flower, instead raising the bar with the topical songs and delivery. He seems more hungry on this project than ever as he doesn’t get lost in the wave of impressive guests.

Some may call this short but I call it just enough. Tune in and support the man!!

Although sophomore slumps have caused some artists to be faded in obscurity, we don’t anticipate the burgeoning North Cackalacky emcee, Fluent, and his latest effort, Supreme Victory, to fall into this category. While the Tar Heel spit kicker’s debut LP, Retro Future, had him rhyming on production supplied by the likes of Khrysis and 9th Wonder, while rapping alongside famed artists such as Royce Da 5’9″ and SpaceGhostPurrp, Supreme Victory keeps the features succinct, allowing Fluent and J. Cardim, who is the sole producer this time around, to create a unified emcee/producer coalescence that’s rare these days.
Cardim, who’s resume includes production from Lil Wayne, Talib Kweli, Fat Joe, The LOX and more, shines as his crisp production blends with Fluent’s journey through the highs and lows of his everyday life. From Boom bap, to trap and even uptempo electric sounds, Supreme Victory is an album that isn’t afraid to tell a relatable story, in a different way.
The LP certainly prides itself on showing the full scale of Fluent’s talent, regardless of what type of beat or subject matter is thrown his way. Between the relationship heavy “Tonight” and the Joe Budden assisted “Take You Down,” Fluent shows us that there’s more to life than the paper chase, as the Chapel Hill native reveals to us his flaws in addition to his strength’s, allowing us to go beyond typical clichés that portray rapper’s as two dimensional characters. With additional guest appearances from Nipsey Hussle, Action Bronson, Guilty Simpson and Kaze, Fluent’s Supreme Victory is now available through all major digital retailers, so give it a spin, and then go support!
• Google Play: http://bit.ly/1zEWWeA

Supreme Victory Tracklist:

01. Hold On To My Life

02. Hustle Till I’m Ballin (feat. Nipsey Hussle)

03. Tonight

04. Death Of Me

05. Take You Down (feat. Joe Budden)

06. World Go Round (feat. Kaze & Guilty Simpson)

07. Medallion (feat. Action Bronson)

08. Leanin In The whip

09. The Game

10. I’m A Rockstar

Previous post

DJ Manipulator & Louie Gonz - Private Stock

Next post

MR.WHATSHISNAME? - I'm Another Broke MC prod. Aspect (Canada)