The turntablist DJ JS-1 teams up with legendary spitter O.C. to bring us an informative head-nodder called ‘Turn The Tables‘, a homage to the dudes who hold it down behind the wheels of steel. O.C. hasn’t lost his polished vocal dominance as he brings the listener to terms by providing info and terminologies on the craft of deejaying, while DJ JS-1 provides the substance by splicing in the appropriate cuts to complement the lyrics.

Hit the play button and you may learn something. Watch out for DJ JS-1’s project What It Isn’t which drops shortly.

Although it hasn’t been that long since the legendary Grand Wizard Theodore invented scratching and helped birth an entire genre in the process, it seems like the current generation is more concerned with fame and ratings than making timeless music. Here to squash the nonsense and educate the youth is the Queens’ turntablist/producer, DJ JS-1, and his latest joint “Turn The Tables,” featuring the legendary Diggin In The Crates emcee, O.C. The track plays out like a Hip-Hop version of Daft Punk’s “Teachers,” wherein theWord…Life poet shouts out a number of influential forces who have blessed the wheels of steel over the years. Whereas any new jack can quickly get nice on Serato, auto sync some tracks, and call themselves a DJ, the duo take things back to a time where your credibility on the wheels and the m.i.c. was everything. “Turn The Tables” is the first single from DJ JS-1’s It Is What It Isn’t LP, which drops next Tuesday (10/14). If you’ve let the turntable collect too much dust, this single is available as a limited edition 7″ 45, with an exclusive Acapella B-Side, courtesy of Fat Beats. Fire this up on your 1200s, as the tables turn!


 01. Turn the Tables (feat. O.C.)

 02. It Is What It Isn’t (feat. Blacastan, Illa Ghee &Trez)

 03. 110 Percent (feat. Breez Brewin, Homeboy Sandman & Kyle Rapps)

 04. Give A Damn (feat. Dynasty, Eternia & Sara Kana)

 05. Forgotten (feat. Spit Gemz, Wes & Nutso)

 06. Pay Attention (feat. Soul Khan)

 07. Interference (feat. Esoteric & Ras Kass)

 08. Letchuknow (feat. Strick & Eklips)

 09. Whatever It Takes (feat Murs & Fashawn)

10. Higher Level (feat. Brother J & Professor X)

11. DieHard (feat. Erick Sermon, Rahzel & Buckshot)

12. Klick Clique (feat. KRS-One & Torae)

13. Groom Lake (feat. C Rayz Walz)

14. Show Shockin’ (feat. El Da Sensei, Tame One & Reef the Lost Cauze)

15. Infinite (feat. Ruste Juxx & Sav Killz)

16. Profreshionals (feat. Ill Bill & Slaine)

17. Love Me Not (feat. Kurious, Craig G & Smooth B)

18. My Neighborhood (feat. Pack FM)

19. Soo Real (feat. Rasheed Chappell & Wordsworth)

20. Sample Abuser (feat. AG, Sadat X & Neek the Exotic)

21. STCAF (feat. Lordroc, Eternal, Melo Malo, Lifelong, Truth & Cerebral)

Pre-Order/Vinyl Buy-Link:

• iTunes:

• CD (Fat Beats):

• 7-inch Vinyl 45 (Fat Beats):

Previous post

L'Orange - After The Flowers EP

Next post

ZukeSaga - Simply Vile prod. E-Grady