The duo known as Constant Deviants have quite a history in this rap game, more than you may envisage. The duo, made up of emcee M.I. and Dj Cutt have both have worked with quite an enviable list of rap notables in the 90s and are now gearing up for their fourth release. The latest video is the laid back, somewhat gloomy tune called The Right Moment and its a sneak peak into what to expect on their full length project “Avant Garde”.

Hit the play button and get to know the team.

Veterans in the world of hip hop with careers spanning the Golden Era and beyond, Constant Deviants release their new
album ‘Avant Garde’ on 12th May 2015

Their fourth album release in 5 years, the prolific partnership of rapper M.I. and producer DJ Cutt are a crew with
origins in Baltimore and Brooklyn but born of NY State college party jams in the mid Nineties. Joint deejay and freestyle sessions saw the New Jersey pair develop a symbiotic working relationship which took to the studio in 1996 to record their renowned debut 12″ single ‘Competition Catch Speed Knots’.

In 1998 they produced their seminal 12’s ‘Can’t Stop’ and ‘8th Wonder b/w Hustler’s Prayer’. The impact of these early
releases came to the attention of manager Mark Pitts (J Cole, Biggie, Bad Boy, Jive) and in 2000 M.I. penned a solo deal
with Arista. Having already engineered Memphis Bleek’s debut album ‘Coming of Age’ in 1999, DJ Cutt provided some early production for M.I.’s solo projects before engineering albums for Roc-A-Fella artists N.O.R.E. and Beenie Sigel.

The duo’s paths crossed again in 2006. While developing future plans with the late producer Kyze (Capone-n-Noreaga), M.I. co-produced a remix of the track ‘Yup’ featuring Rick Ross and N.O.R.E with DJ Cutt. Working together once more invoked the spirit of their early days, and the pair established Six2Six Records. Dedicated to the authentic culture and sound of hip hop, the boutique label released new vinyl 12″ singles and re-issues by various independent artists.

All tracks produced by DJ Cutt

1 – Avant Garde
2 – Standards
3 – It’s Like That ft Aye Wun
4 – End All Be All
5 – Side B
6 – Breathin’
7 – Whatever You Call It
8 – U Know What
9 – I’m Still Up
9b – Which One
10 – Machine Gun
11 – I’m Wit It
12 – The Right Moment
13 – What’s Wrong With You
13b – M’s 4 Milleniums


Previous post

Fashawn - The Ecology (album stream)

Next post

Melo-Zed - Feel Me (U.K.)