There is no denying when something this nice hits you. The debut album from West Coast spitter Pawz One has been in the making for a while now and finally we get to hear what the cat has to offer on this 18 track body of work. Sticking to just two different producers (Default and Breeze), we get a cohesive soundscape from track to track while Pawz One pulls no punches on the mic blending tales of urban life,braggadocio and the third to complete the cipher. In the feature department he brings in underground stalwarts like Ras Kass (still my favorite west coast vet), Raaka Iriscience (we need that solo album bro) and Termanalogy amongst others.

I got only three words: this is dope.

The West Coast has gained a following for being a purely gangsta rap scene, but  the LA-based newcomer Pawz One challenges this ideology with the release of his debut album Face The Facts. Though the 18 track project plays out like a Golden Era hustler’s anthem, the delivery and presentation is what makes this one so memorable. The blend of Pawz’s lyrical potency, coupled with the boom-bap production savvy of LA’s Default and Breeze, prove to be a notable combination that’s worthy of your attention. From the piano frantic “Officer Down” to the A Tribe Called Quest sampled “The Luv [Remix]” featuring Masta Ace and Ariano, Face the Facts showcases a West Coast vibe, balanced with that East Coast grit. Beats aside, the lyrics of ‘coming up and taking over’ are central to the album’s theme, as Pawz creates a Scarface’esque story of success. Face the Facts includes additional guest features from Ras Kass, Termanology, Rakaa Iriscience, 2Mex and Self Provoked and is now available via Below System.



Cop it HERE (iTunes) and HERE  (Bandcamp)




01.  Intro (prod. by Default )

02.  Face The Facts (prod. by  Breeze)

03.  What You Make It (prod. by Default)

04.  Trust No One (prod. by  Breeze)

05.  Defstrumental 1 (prod. by Default)

06.  People You KNow (feat. 2Mex) [prod. by Breeze]

07.  Officer Down (prod. by Default)

08.  Mind Power (feat. Termanology & Ras Kass) [prod. by Default]

09.  Blood Brothers (prod. by  Breeze)

10.  Defstrumnetal 2 (prod. by Default)

11.  Effortless (prod. by Default)

12.  Avalanche Warning (feat. Rakaa Iriscience) (prod by Default)

13.  You Could Be Mine (prod. by Default)

14.  My Night (prod. by  Breeze)

15.  Those Were The Days (prod. by Default)

16.  The Luv (feat. Ariano) [prod. by Default]

17.  Bringing It Back (feat. Self Provoked) [prod. by Default]

18.  The Luv (Remix) [feat. Masta Ace & Ariano) [prod. by Default] 

Previous post

Jansport J Presents: The Soul Provider LP!

Next post

Curren$y - The Drive-In Theatre [Mixtape]