As we enter Black history month which is also the month of Dilla ( to all Hip-Hop heads), this new song just fits perfectly.  What I am on about is the solid head nodder from Swedish duo Chapee & Max I Million titled “Feel It“. I am familiar with some of Max I Million’s work but  I’m very green to Chapee and this song has definitely changed that as I’m about to do some some more digging into the man.

On “Feel It“, Chapee brings that everyday man with an extraordinary gift over the smooth jazzy backdrop provided by Max I Millions. He simply paints his experiences- from a rebellious kid to a wise grown man-  with vivid lyrics. The video on the other hand harks back to the analog era, kicking off with a VHS cassette tape being slotted into a VCR (damn, can’t remember the last time I used those). We are then introduced to the man himself as he channels his thoughts on wax in the record store. No frills, just straight pure, uncut Hip-Hop.

Get down with the program.

At first listen, “Feel It” plays out like a straight-up ode to Hip-Hop and how much the genre has grown over the past 20 years alone. But repeated listens (which come easy given the addictive nature of the tune) reveal that this is actually the story of Chapee’s experience in the culture, which began more than two decades ago. Since debuting as a teen and working as part of Chapee & Chess, the gifted Swede has toured the globe and released a slew of notable tracks and projects.

But it was only in March 2016 that he released his proper debut, Mode7ty, which seems to have lit a fire under the Hip-Hop vet. As “Feel It” displays, he’s never sounded better and more in his lane, particularly rapping over Million’s laid-back, Soulquarians-reminiscent production, and Devastate’s sample-scratching chorus. Devastate also provides a remix of the track, too, which turns up the jazz levels and brings a substantial knock on the drums.

Max also filmed and directed the single’s video, which is a super-dope trip back to the time when VHS ruled the market and things like DVDs were a fantasy at best. That being said, the quality here is nothing short of high-def—just with a rad, throwback-style presentation.

Feel It” is now available for stream through all major digital retailers, via Counterweight Records. The label is also getting set to drop Chapee’s follow-up project, ‘The Maxtape 2,’ very soon.

1. Chapee & Max I Million – Feel It (prod. by Max I Million)
2. Chapee & Max I Million – Feel It (DJ Devastate Remix)
3. Chapee & Max I Million – Feel It (Instrumental)
4. Chapee & Max I Million – Feel It (Remix Instrumental)

‘Feel It’ (EP) Stream/Download:
• iTunes:
• Amazon:
• Google Play:
• Spotify:
• Tidal:


Previous post

M.O.P. Goes Big Band With SK Invitational To Drop "We Don't Stop"

Next post

P.A.T. Junior Is Stepping Out The Bat-Cave